Share:
Notifications
Clear all

[Sticky] Getting to Know You!

Page 2 / 16
johobbit
(@jo)
SO mod; WC captain Moderator

Welcome to all who have joined or returned recently! Wave It is good to have each of you here. Smile  

Perla, we have had a few non-native English speakers here over the years, and you are most welcome. Smile Your English is very good! And I love the Spanish name "Perla" for Jewel - beautiful!

Signature by Narnian_Badger, thanks! (2013)
7,237 posts from Forum 1.0

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : June 24, 2020 6:49 pm
wolfloversk
(@wolfloversk)
The Wandering, Wild & Welcoming Winged Wolf Hospitality Committee

Welcome Perla!  The origin of your username is really cool!  I used to be the opposite of you actually, my native language is English, but I studied Spanish for 7 years.  I haven't used it in a long time though, so it's hard for me to speak it now even though I was fairly good at it 10 yrs ago (not quite fluent, but not that far away).  I'd love to take it up again... I love learning about different languages (I also studied German for 2 years).  Your English is really good!  I wouldn't have guessed that you are not a native speaker if you hadn't mentioned.  Also, I've been using it my whole life and I still don't know where to put a comma half of the time. 😛 

"The mountains are calling and I must go, and I will work on while I can, studying incessantly." -John Muir
"Be cunning, and full of tricks, and your people will never be destroyed." -Richard Adams, Watership Down

ReplyQuote
Posted : June 29, 2020 1:28 am
The Rose-Tree Dryad
(@rose)
Secret Garden Agent Moderator

A belated welcome to you, @Perla! Wave

I agree with Wolfy; your English is very good. We've had more international members sign up in the past year or so; I think forums are a nice gathering space for worldwide fan communities because the conversation is often a bit slower-paced. Smile