Forum

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Trying to compile EVERY Christian symbol in Narnia - please check my work 🙂

HailAslan81
(@hailaslan81)
NarniaWeb Newbie

Hey, everybody! I'm new to NarniaWeb (though my wife spent her childhood enjoying it). I was wondering if you all could help me with this article that I've written: The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe: The Complete Guide to Christian Symbolism and Bible References in C. S. Lewis' The Chronicles of Narnia. What am I missing? I know my treatment of the sequels is thin compared to LW&W, and TLB is especially rich. Thanks!

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : November 10, 2020 11:47 am
Col Klink
(@col-klink)
NarniaWeb Junkie

I wish I could enthusiastically contribute to your project, you being new here and the forum being kind of slow these days. But while these things can be interesting, they tend to irritate me a bit.

You see I think it's better if readers don't know that Narnia has Christian meaning before they read it. I know that's going to make Christians mad because they'll think I'm downplaying the significance of Christianity to Narnia, and non-Christians mad because they'll be worried that readers will be influenced by the Christianity in the books if they aren't psychologically forearmed against it. But if both parties will hear me out, I think they'll understand my point of view.