Notifications
Clear all

Astronomy: Adventures in Stargazing

Page 57 / 63
Narnian78
(@narnian78)
NarniaWeb Guru

@stargazer 

Hope College, a small Christian liberal arts college, has a small telescope in a private observatory, which is in the physics-math building. But it is not open to the public like the other two observatories I mentioned. It is in the city of Holland, Michigan, where the college campus is located.  I am a graduate of that college, but I never took any astronomy classes there.  I was an English major there, and I took biology and botany to fulfill the science credit.  However, I always was intrigued by astronomy and have had stargazing as a hobby for many years. I like science fiction too, and amateur astronomy is something that I always liked about as much as fantasy and fictional space voyages.  🙂

ReplyQuote
Posted : July 22, 2023 5:19 pm
johobbit liked
johobbit
(@jo)
SO mod; WC captain Moderator

'Tis Interesting to hear about various observing places from you both. Smile  

I was out for my walk at 4:40 this morning, so night sky objects were very visible. Beautiful! There is one star in the south (about 20° from the horizon) that I cannot place, although I think it may be Fomalhaut, which I am just getting to know. I will go to look at my planisphere right now to determine what it is. ... *pause* ...  Aha, it is Fomalhaut! It looks to be quite alone in its distinct brightness in that area of the sky.

Unfortunately, there was a wide strip of cloud on the eastern horizon, and then some haze above that, so I was still not able to see any of Orion rising. However, in that general direction, Capella, Aldebaran, the Pleiades, and Jupiter were sparkling. The Pleiades disappeared from view about 20 minutes after I was into my walk. Then by 5:30, the only visible objects were Capella, Jupiter (NE and E), and Vega in the west. At this point, there was 34 minutes until sunrise.