Share:
Notifications
Clear all

[Closed] 2023 New Year's Resolutions

Kokoro Hane
(@kokoro-hane)
NarniaWeb Regular

Hello everyone!

I was wondering if anyone already thought of their 2023 New Year's reoslutions! And, also, if you had ones for 2022, were you able to fulfill them?

Topic starter Posted : December 10, 2022 11:24 am
Ryadian
(@rya)
Member Moderator

I've switched from resolutions to an idea suggested by YouTuber CPG Grey. Instead of setting a resolution, you set a "theme" for a particular year. For example, instead of resolving to lose 15 pounds, you just make health your "theme" for that year. The idea is that when you come to any point where you need to make a decision (big or small), you can think about your theme when making that choice, and ideally it'll prompt you to make one aligned with your "theme". (He explains it better than I can.)

I've been doing these since 2021, that year being my "Year of Writing". I ended up getting back into writing regularly every day (something I hadn't been doing for about a decade), which was great. But I still had a bad habit of writing a lot of things that were only useful in the short term (e.g. notes to myself) instead of putting actual work into the story I wanted to write.

So, 2022 was... well, I never came up with a good word for it. "Year of Progress", I guess. My goal was to not just put effort into things, but to actually make real progress. I didn't get as much writing done as I would have liked, but I did finish a draft of something I've been struggling with for a long time, and I'm proud of that.

Funnily enough, I think my "Year of Progress" ended up translating more into "get housework done" than my original intention. Not that I can complain - that desperately needed attention, too. 😉