Share:
Notifications
Clear all

The Second Measure: Sewing, Yarnwork, and other Needlework

Page 17 / 19
wolfloversk
(@wolfloversk)
The Wandering, Wild & Welcoming Winged Wolf Hospitality Committee

One of my favorite nightgowns unfortunately was left too long in the laundry pile next to the tub and got mildew stains. Crying   Fortunately, I's only a tiny section so I'm planning on cutting out the bad part today and turning the rest of it into much needed handkerchiefs and rags.  I'm just debating on if I should try my jr sewing machine to hem the hankies or if I should just hem them by hand.  I have only made a hemline once before and that was by hand. (Though it turned out pretty good, not a professional level, but functional enough that I could continue using my work pants.) For today, though, I'll be happy if I just get all the pieces cut.

I'm still learning to sew, but it feels really good to be able to make minor repairs and upcycle old clothes that would otherwise be thrown out.  I'm hoping to eventually sew my own dresses at some point, but ya know... baby steps 😛 

Edit: Well I've decided to actually tear out the old seams, rather than cut out those sections of fabric.  The result should mean less wasted fabric, but it also means that I don't think I'll get to cutting out the pieces today... I have to use my tiny sheers for tearing out the seams as I have no seam ripper.  It's actually kind of relaxing, though... I've never really done it before and I was expecting it to be much more of a pain.  (Though, I suppose ripping out your own stitches cuz you made an error is totally different than ripping out someone else's stitches cuz you are reusing the fabric.)  Also, I enjoy untying knots, unlike most people, and it's not too dissimilar from knots untangling.  I just need to take frequent breaks as my eyes and fingers start to hurt.

"The mountains are calling and I must go, and I will work on while I can, studying incessantly." -John Muir