Forum

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Archenland naming conventions

Cobalt Jade
(@cobalt-jade)
NarniaWeb Nut

Thought I'd post this here to see what everyone thinks. I'm a writer, also a Narnia fan, and have a number of writings on the Chronicles and Lewis on my website. I have a particular fascination for names, and in case there are any fanfic writers here, I have lists and lists of names for Narnian people, places, things. This is my second summer of concentrating on Narnia. There's a lot of older posts as well.

So, here I'm discussing twins born in Archenland and how they are named, or might be named. For reference, I use the original 1950s English language editions of the Chronicles (those published in England.)

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : June 27, 2021 1:34 pm
DiGoRyKiRkE
(@digorykirke)
The Logical Ornithological Mod Moderator

Mod Note: Fan fiction is not permitted on NarniaWeb, but discussion about the naming trend of Archenlanders and speculation on what said names might look like is perfectly fine

I’ve always thought it hilarious that it could be considered canonical for Cor and Aravis to have a son named Ramen as their first born son “Ram the Great” a was perhaps the best ruler of Archenland

Member of Ye Olde NarniaWeb

ReplyQuote
Posted : June 30, 2021 8:42 am
Cleander
(@the-mad-poet-himself)
NarniaWeb Guru

@digorykirke, I could see the other son getting called Ramen the Tasty behind his back! Grin  

PM me to join the Search for the Seven Swords!
Co-founder of the newly restored Edmund Club!
Did I mention I have a YouTube Channel?: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCeuUaOTFts5BQV3c-CPlo_g
Check out my site: https://madpoetscave.weebly.com

signature by aileth

ReplyQuote
Posted : July 5, 2021 10:33 pm
Courtenay
(@courtenay)
NarniaWeb Fanatic Hospitality Committee
Posted by: @the-mad-poet

@digorykirke, I could see the other son getting called Ramen the Tasty behind his back! Grin